Invincible by Amy Reed

Title: Invincible

Author: Amy Reed

Series: Yes, a duology.

Format: ARC provided by HarperCollins. (Thank you!)

Page Count: 325

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Age Range: 16+

Genre: Contemporary

Description on Goodreads:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Go Ask Alice in this dramatic romance about a teenage girl who survives a terminal cancer diagnosis, only to get trapped in the deadly spiral of addiction. Fans of Gayle Forman and Sara Zarr will be swept away by this gritty romance, the first in a duology.

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now she’d be dead. Evie is grateful for every extra day she gets, but she knows that soon this disease will kill her. Until, miraculously, she may have a second chance to live.

All Evie had wanted was her life back, but now that she has it, she feels like there’s no place for her in it–at least, not for the girl she is now. Her friends and her parents still see her as Cancer Girl, and her boyfriend’s constant, doting attention is suddenly nothing short of suffocating.

Then Evie meets Marcus. She knows that he’s trouble, but she can’t help falling for him. Being near him makes her feel truly, fully alive. It’s better than a drug. His kiss makes her feel invincible–but she may be at the beginning of the biggest free fall of her life.

Review:

Oh my god I devoured this. This was like a heavenly mix of Gayle Forman and Ellen Hopkins. The pure transformation of Evie from sick “Cancer Girl” to her recovery to downfall is just pure magic. Amy Reed really knows how to write. I will definitely be looking more into her books.

I will say, if you are trigger sensitive to drug use, LGBQT, and family issues, please be careful.

Everything felt genuine. Like, I was actually there. God. I want the second book now!

My Rating: 4/5

Would I/Who would I recommend it (too): Fans of Ellen Hopkins, John Green, Gayle Forman. 😀

Goodreads Link:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22960609-invincible

Invincible_tagline_final.indd

Advertisement

One thought on “Invincible by Amy Reed

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s