The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Title: The Girl at Midnight

Author: Melissa Grey

Series: Yes.

Format: eARC

Page Count: 368

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Age Range: 16+

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Description on Goodreads:

For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’sShadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Review:

I really enjoyed this. Echo was someone I really wanted to know. 😀 The pacing was quick, but I felt I could safely put the book down and come back to it, in a good way. I rarely have those kinds of books. The kind you can feel safe just setting down for a few days, and then just jump right back in! 😀

The style was very unique. I didn’t feel the City of Bones feel, then again I have never read it… but I did get a Daughter of Smoke and Bone’s and Shadow and Bone feel. Those two I had the same previous feeling with. I LOVE that feeling. That wonderful feeling. Sometimes taking a while to finish a book is a great thing! 😀

The world building is something that was very strong. I found myself thinking about so much of the scenery for days. Miss Grey really knows how to paint a picture.

And how to build a great set of characters.

I don’t want to get too much into detail, but there is one thing I am happy about. Something that makes me soooooo happy. NO LOVE TRIANGLE. Yes, there is romance though. A GREAT ONE! 😀

I am definitely grabbing a copy of this physically, as it has entered my heart as a possible favorite series. ❤

My Rating: 4.8/5

Would I/Who would I recommend it (too): Anyone who loves fantasy, and a great journey.

Goodreads Link:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20345202-the-girl-at-midnight

20345202


2 thoughts on “The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s